The Edgewater Park bath house, sometime during the 1920s, looking north into Lake Erie. The bath house was constructed in the early 1900s. Edgewater Park, located along Lake Erie at E. 156th Street, just west of the Division Avenue Treatment Plant (now known as the Garrett Morgan facility). The park was purchased in 1894 by the city's Second Park Board from Jacob B. Perkins, Cleveland industrialist. The land, consisting of 2 parcels, became Perkins Beach and Edgewater Park. Many recreational facilities were subsequently provided, including bath houses, a pavilion, baseball diamonds, and numerous picnic and playground areas.
In 1925, the Cleveland Water Department opened the Baldwin Water Treatment Plant in the Fairfax neighborhood on the border of Cleveland Heights. Supplying water to the Baldwin facility was the Kirtland Pump Station located on Lakefront Road at E. 49th Street. Just east of the Kirtland Station was Gordon Park Beach, which was a 122-acre recreational area along the lakefront on the eastern side of E. 72nd Street. Euclid Beach Park was located on the southern shore of Lake Erie at E. 156th St. and Nottingham Rd., about 8 mi. from Public Square. On the west side of Cleveland. Adjacent to the Division Avenue Treatment Plant (now known as the Garrett Morgan facility), Edgewater Park was purchased in 1894 by the city's Second Park Board from Jacob B. Perkins, Cleveland industrialist. The collection consists of 53 black and white photographs illustrating Baldwin Water Treatment facility, the construction of bulkheads along the shoreline at the Kirtland Pump Station, and Edgewater, Euclid Beach, and Gordon Parks.
The bath house as seen from the Euclid Beach pier, sometime during the 1920s. Beyond the bath house is the park's roller coaster. Euclid Beach Park was one of the nation's best-known amusement centers, was located on the southern shore of Lake Erie at E. 156th St. and Nottingham Rd., about 8 mi. from Public Square. The park, incorporated on 23 Oct. 1894 by a group of Cleveland investors, was originally managed by William R. Ryan, Sr., and patterned after New York's Coney Island. During the early decades of the 20th Century, many entertainment features were added to the park, including an expanded beach and bathing facilities. The image shows the bathhouse from the Euclid Beach pier.