The Edgewater Park bath house, sometime during the 1920s, looking north into Lake Erie. The bath house was constructed in the early 1900s. Edgewater Park, located along Lake Erie at E. 156th Street, just west of the Division Avenue Treatment Plant (now known as the Garrett Morgan facility). The park was purchased in 1894 by the city's Second Park Board from Jacob B. Perkins, Cleveland industrialist. The land, consisting of 2 parcels, became Perkins Beach and Edgewater Park. Many recreational facilities were subsequently provided, including bath houses, a pavilion, baseball diamonds, and numerous picnic and playground areas.
Kirtland Pump Station bulkhead, looking west toward downtown Cleveland from the Muni Light intake, before beginning construction work, July 15, 1930. Terminal Tower can be seen in the distance. The Kirtland Pump Station was located on Lakefront Road at E. 49th Street. The Station provided water from Lake Erie to the Baldwin Water Treatment Plant, located some 3 1/2 miles away in the Fairfax neighborhood.
The bath house as seen from the Euclid Beach pier, sometime during the 1920s. Beyond the bath house is the park's roller coaster. Euclid Beach Park was one of the nation's best-known amusement centers, was located on the southern shore of Lake Erie at E. 156th St. and Nottingham Rd., about 8 mi. from Public Square. The park, incorporated on 23 Oct. 1894 by a group of Cleveland investors, was originally managed by William R. Ryan, Sr., and patterned after New York's Coney Island. During the early decades of the 20th Century, many entertainment features were added to the park, including an expanded beach and bathing facilities. The image shows the bathhouse from the Euclid Beach pier.